Connect with us Twitter Facebook YouTube Pinterest Instagram

Sign up to our newsletter

Tim Don and Cecilia Perez, the winners of Challenge San Gil 2017!

Posted on: Monday 3rd July 2017

A spectacular day of racing was the third edition of CHALLENGESAN GIL this Sunday. The event hold very talented pro fields in the women´s and men´s division, with a pro start list that included two of Mexico´s top contenders, Mauricio Mendez Xterra World Champion and multiple IM 70.3 winner, and Panamerican and Olympian Crisanto Grajales, who was making his debut on a middle distance triathlon.

The race got media attention, when one of the best Long Distance triathletes in the past decade, Britain´s Tim Don, decided to race in Queretaro, just three weeks before race day.

As expected, the 1.9 swim was the beginning of a great duel, as Tim, Mauricio and Crisanto exited the swim course with in seconds of each other,with a 22:30 non wetsuit swim time. Raul Tejada from Guatemala, was 1.30 minutes back.

As soon as the bike course started, Tim Don hammered the bike and gained distance and time. As the kilometers keep going Tim gained 5 minutes to Mauricio and Crisanto.

With a 7 minute lead reaching the second transition, Tim took complete control of the race. Mauricio finished second on the bike, but was passed by Crisanto on the first kilometers of the run curse, Crisanto hold second place and unfortunately, Mauricio withdrew the race on the second loop of San Gil run curse, after leg cramps.

Tim set up a new curse record, and is the first athlete to race under the 4 hour mark in the challenging San Gil bike course. Newcomer Raul Tejada from Guatemala takes the podium after a strong run.

On the women’s field, the new CHALLENGESAN GIL Champion was Ceclia Perez, who placed second on 2015, and won the event in 2014. She placed first on the swim curse, but entered the second transition 1:30 minutes back to Laurel Gassner who led into the T2 after a strong bike ride.

Laurel hold the lead on the first part of the half marathon, and most of the second loop, but lost the lead on the last kilometers of the run.


Challenge San Gil Top 3 Men

  1. Tim Don 3:54.10
  2. Crisanto Grajales 4:03:00
  3. Raul Tejada 4:06:14

Challenge San Gil Top 3 Women

  1. Ceclia Perez 4:40.29
  2. Laurel Wessner 4:42:39
  3. Madison Mackensi 4:48:22


Posted in Latest News, Uncategorized


Sign up to our monthly newsletter for updates on new races, results and the chance to win some fantastic prizes...